Six Firebirds’ Prospects Listed on OHL Gold Cup Rosters

Watch more OHL Draft on Firebirds TV

Kitchener, Ont. – 128 players selected in the 2019 OHL Priority Selection have been named to OHL Gold Cup rosters where they’ll represent their respective minor hockey associations from May 2-5 at the Activa Sportsplex in Kitchener, Ont.

Six Firebirds’ prospects that were drafted by Flint in the 2019 OHL Priority Selection on Apr. 6 are scheduled to compete in the OHL Gold Cup: Tyler Dunbar, Zacharie Giroux, Braeden Kressler, Brennan Othmann, Eddie Moskowitz and Matthew Roy.

As part of Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence, the OHL Cup is only open to under-16 players with Canadian citizenship resulting in recently drafted Owen Carlile, Ty Gallagher, Jack Silich and Jack Stolicker not being eligible to play.

17 of the 20 current eligible Firebirds have competed at the OHL Gold Cup: Michael Bianconi, Ryan Bangs, Dennis Busby, Luke Cavallin, Ty Dellandrea, Kyle Harris, Hunter Holmes, Ethan Keppen, Riley McCourt, Cody Morgan, Jack Phibbs, Connor Roberts, Emmet Pierce, Jacob Winterton, Eric Uba, Evan Vierling and Jack Wismer.

“We wish to extend congratulations to our prospects and families for being selected to participate in the OHL Gold Cup,” said Flint Firebirds Vice President of Hockey Operations & General Manager Barclay Branch. “It is a tribute to their hard work, dedication, and talent. It will be an outstanding experience and we wish them the best of luck in the competition.”

The OHL Gold Cup is an annual showcase event featuring top under-16 talent in Ontario running from May 2-May 5 at the Activa Sportsplex in Kitchener, Ont.  As part of the Hockey Canada Program of Excellence (POE), players competing at the OHL Gold Cup have an opportunity to be evaluated for invitation to the national under-17 development camp, where Hockey Canada gathers the top talent from across the country to introduce players to the national team program and provide a foundation of development as they progress through the POE.

“The Ontario Hockey League is proud of our partnership with the Ontario Hockey Federation and Hockey Canada that extends to great events like the OHL Gold Cup which provides players with another unique development opportunity,” said Joe Birch, OHL Senior Director of Player Development and Special Events. “Some of the very best players from across Ontario, including future OHL stars and members of Canada’s National Under-17 Teams, will be showcasing their abilities in May. It will be exciting to see how the action unfolds and which players are able to seize the moment.”

OHL Gold Cup players will receive development opportunities and training directly from Hockey Canada instructors. Throughout the week players will participate in three off-ice education sessions, dedicated position-specific practices, and a full-team game-day skate.

In addition to development opportunities, players will compete in three pool games and one crossover game on the final day, with the OHL Gold Cup champion being named from the winner of the A1 versus B1 crossover game – all games are open to the public.


• All 21 players selected in the first round of the 2019 OHL Priority Selection presented by Real Canadian Superstore have been named to rosters.
• 128 of the 160 OHL Gold Cup players were picked in the 2019 OHL Priority Selection presented by Real Canadian Superstore.
• Top minor hockey teams represented on rosters: Thunder Bay Kings (16), Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves (13), Toronto Marlboros (9) and Toronto Red Wings (9).
• From the 2018 event, 32 OHL Gold Cup alumni were selected to play for Hockey Canada at the 2018 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge.

OHL Prospects on 2019 OHL Gold Cup Rosters:

Barrie Colts (7):
Brandt Clarke (GTHL Red)*
Ryan Del Monte (GTHL Red)
Jacob Frasca (GTHL Blue)
Kai Greaves (ALLIANCE)
Blake Hall (OMHA White)
Mark MacPhee (HEO)
Oliver Smith (GTHL Blue)

Erie Otters (5):
Forbes Andersen (GTHL Blue)
Ryan Forberg (GTHL Red)
Christian Kyrou (ALLIANCE)
Connor Lockhart (HEO)*
Wil Murphy (OMHA White)

Flint Firebirds (6):
Tyler Dunbar (NOHA)
Zacharie Giroux (NOHA)
Braeden Kressler (GTHL Blue)
Eddie Moskowitz (GTHL Red)
Brennan Othmann (GTHL Blue)*
Matthew Roy (OMHA Black)

Guelph Storm (4):
Braeden Bowman (ALLIANCE)
Jacob Maillet (OMHA White)
Marko Sikic (ALLIANCE)
Danny Zhilkin (GTHL Blue)*

Hamilton Bulldogs (8):
Matteo Drobac (OMHA White)
Ray Hamlin (ALLIANCE)
Kaleb Nelson (OMHA Black)
Dylan Richardson (OMHA Black)
Chandler Romeo (GTHL Red)
Lawson Sherk (OMHA White)
Owen Simpson (GTHL Blue)
Ryan Winterton (OMHA Black)*

Kingston Frontenacs (9):
Francesco Arcuri (GTHL Blue)
Maddox Callens (ALLIANCE)
Jake Coleman (HEO)
Cayden Faust (ALLIANCE)
Braden Haché (OMHA Black)
Barret Joynt (OMHA White)
Cameron Walker (NOHA)
Owen Watson (HEO)
Shane Wright (GTHL Red)*

Kitchener Rangers (5):
Jesse Fishman (GTHL Red)
Mitchell Martin (NOHA)
Mark McIntosh (OMHA Black)
Francesco Pinelli (GTHL Blue)*
Justin Wu (GTHL Blue)

London Knights (7):
Ty Anselmini (OMHA Black)
Alex Atwill (HNO)
Connor Federkow (OMHA White)
Matteo Giampa (OMHA White)
Logan Mailloux (GTHL Blue)
Max McCue (NOHA)
Stuart Rolofs (HEO)*

Mississauga Steelheads (7):
Luca Del Bel Belluz (GTHL Red)
Ethan Del Mastro (GTHL Blue)*
Justin DiLauro (OMHA Black)
Sean Mateer (OMHA Black)
Adam O’Marra (OMHA Black)
Josh Reid (HEO)
Chas Sharpe (OMHA White)

Niagara IceDogs (6):
Bradley Brunet (NOHA)
Landon Cato (GTHL Blue)
Isaac Enright (HEO)*
Ethan Mistry (GTHL Red)
Stephen Pszeniczny (NOHA)
Josh Rosenzweig (GTHL Red)

North Bay Battalion (9):
Liam Arnsby (GTHL Red)*
Alex Christopoulos (GTHL Red)
Paul Christopoulos (GTHL Red)
Justin Ertel (GTHL Blue)
Ty Hollett (HEO)
Steven LaForme (ALLIANCE)
Devon Savignac (NOHA)
Aidan Shepard (GTHL Blue)
Joshua Ziliotto (OMHA White)

Oshawa Generals (4):
Brett Harrison (ALLIANCE)*
Patrick Leaver (HEO)
Daniel Michaud (OMHA White)
Cooper Way (ALLIANCE)

Ottawa 67’s (11):
Jack Beck (GTHL Red)
Eric Bonsteel (GTHL Red)
Gabriel Crete (HEO)
Max Donoso (ALLIANCE)
Ranvir Gill (HEO)
Parker Hendsbee (OMHA White)
Tommy Johnston (OMHA Black)
Jack Matier (NOHA)*
Giovanni Morneau (HEO)
Easton Ryan (HEO)
Brenden Sirizzotti (OMHA Black)

Owen Sound Attack (8):
Ethan Burroughs (OMHA White)
Douglas Carr (OMHA Black)
Deni Goure (ALLIANCE)*
Brayden Hislop (ALLIANCE)
Kaleb Lawrence (HEO)
Ethan Lindsay (OMHA Black)
Sam Sedley (ALLIANCE)
Nicholas Von Kaufmann (GTHL Red)

Peterborough Petes (8):
J.R. Avon (OMHA White)*
Ryan Cutler (OMHA Black)
Josh Kavanagh (NOHA)
Mason McTavish (HEO)*
Nicholas Paone (OMHA White)
Cole Patey (OMHA White)
Tucker Robertson (GTHL Blue)
Michael Simpson (ALLIANCE)

Saginaw Spirit (4):
Josh Bloom (GTHL Red)
Carter Garvie (OMHA White)
Cole Hipkin (ALLIANCE)
Connor Punnett (OMHA White)*

Sarnia Sting (6):
Nicholas Beneteau (ALLIANCE)
Nolan Dann (GTHL Blue)
Ben Gaudreau (NOHA)*
Chris Innes (NOHA)
Deven Nagra (GTHL Red)
Justin O’Donnell (GTHL Red)

Soo Greyhounds (4):
Marc Boudreau (GTHL Red)
Hunter Brown (HEO)
Luc Brzustowski (ALLIANCE)
Jacob Holmes (OMHA Black)*

Sudbury Wolves (8):
Andre Anania (GTHL Blue)
Ryan Burke (ALLIANCE)
Ryan Gillespie (GTHL Blue)
Ethan Larmand (OMHA White)
Landon McCallum (ALLIANCE)*
Alex Pineau (HNO)
Josh Simpson (OMHA Black)
Chase Stillman (NOHA)

Windsor Spitfires (3):
James Jodoin (OMHA Black)
Wyatt Johnston (GTHL Red)*
Pasquale Zito (GTHL Blue)

*first round pick

For more information including full rosters and schedule please visit

More News
Video: Firebirds' Morgan featured in West Division Meet-Up
20 hours ago
Video: Overager Sitdown with Jack Phibbs
2 days ago
Video: Firebirds select Belarus native Dmitry Kuzmin in CHL Import Draft Tuesday
1 week ago
Firebirds CHL Import Draft Central
1 week ago
Top five impact players from 2019 CHL Import Draft
1 week ago
Firebirds prepare for 2020 CHL Import Draft Tuesday
1 week ago